Who created the chimichanga?

The origin of the chimichanga is uncertain. By some accounts, it originated in Mexico. In others, by accident in Arizona, United States. In 1 account, Monica Flin, founder of restaurant El Charro, made the 1st chimichanga when she accidentally dropped a burrito into the deep-fat fryer in 1922.