What is the origin of if the shoe fits wear it?

According to grammerist.com If the shoe fits, wear it is an American phrase that was first used in the mid-1700s. However, it has its antecedent in an English phrase first published in the late 1500s in England. If the cap fits is the shortened version of the idiom if the cap fits, wear it.