Do snakes like water?

Almost all snakes like being in or around water. Some live almost exclusively in the water, coming on land to mate and lay eggs. Some snakes like Boa's like to hunt or hide in the water. But there are snakes that live in the desert or very dry areas, and never get the chance to be around water.