Where does vanilla flavoring come from?

Pure natural vanilla flavor comes from vanilla beans, but vanilla flavoring can also come from castoreum, which is an anal excretion of beavers used to mark their territory. Castoreum is considered a natural flavoring by the FDA and is often used in baked goods to give them a vanilla flavor.