Are mushrooms animals?

No. Mushrooms are edible fungi and come in a variety of types. Most frequently mushrooms refer to fungi that contain a cap, stem and gills on the underside of the cap. Mushrooms that are poisonous to humans are generally referred to as Toadstools.