What country is responsible for creating the olympic games?

French educator and historian, Baron Pierre de Coubertin, founded the international Olympic Committee in 1894, leading to the first modern Olympic games in Athens, Greece, in 1896. Their creation was inspired by the ancient Olympic games held in Olympia Greece starting in the 8th century BC.