Why did the world war one happen?

The immediate cause of World War I that made the aforementioned items come into play (alliances, imperialism, militarism, nationalism) was the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand of Austria-Hungary.

---

Desire for national independence by some members of the Austro-Hungarian Empire.