Can i substitute vegetable oil for vegetable shortening?

Yes. Yes, butter, oil or margarine can be substituted for shortening in equal proportions in cake and cookie recipes. Most folks prefer butter because of its wonderful flavor. However, you can expect some changes in the texture of your baked goods.