What is vinegar come from?

Vinegar is made through the fermentation of ethanol alcohol. Any ingredient containing ethanol may be used to make vinegar, including distilled grain alcohol, wine, champagne, beer, cider and more. Bacteria are used to ferment (or break down) the ethanol into byproducts including acetic acid.