What's the movie crazy love about?

Burt Pugach was an attorney in 1950s NY when he meets Linda Riss. The pair date, but Riss breaks off contact with Pugach upon learning his claims of divorce are false. Discovering that Riss was engaged to another man, Pugach hires some men to throw lye in her face, and serves 14 years in prison.