What's the longest word?

The longest word in the world is the English term: "methionylthreonylthreonyl(...) isoleucine". This term, which has no less than 189, 819 letters, is the chemical name of the largest protein: titin. It would take three hours to recite it from beginning to end!

---

Pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconiosis. This 45-letter word for a disease is the longest English word that is defined in a major dictionary. It’s a technical word referring to the lung disease more commonly known as silicosis. There are longer words in other languages and used in science.