What is sodium hexa meta phosphate?

Sodium hexametaphosphate is a salt, prepared by heating monosodium orthophosphate to generate sodium acid pyrophosphate; heating further followed by rapid cooling, to get the sodium hexametaphosphate. It is used as a sequestrant by the food industry, and as a deflocculant in ceramics.