What is the difference between a symphony and an orchestra?

An orchestra is an ensemble of musicians who play string instruments. A symphony is a larger, more diverse orchestral group that plays brass, woodwinds and percussion instruments in addition to string instruments. A symphony is a type of orchestra, but not all orchestras are symphonies.