How many characters are in smash bro's?

The fighting game series Super Smash Bros. from Nintendo, launched in 1999, features an assortment of video game characters from different franchises. There are over 80 playable characters across the series, mostly sourced from Nintendo franchises but with a number of third-party ones as well.