Where does sauerkraut originate from?

Sauerkraut is finely-sliced white cabbage fermented with lactobacillus bacteria. sugars in the cabbage are then converted into lactic acid and serve as a preservative. Sauerkraut is thought to have originated in the north of China among the Mongols and was introduced in Europe by migrating tribes.