What are the properties of carnelian?

From Wikipedia: Carnelian is a brownish-red mineral used as a semi-precious gemstone. Carnelian was believed by the Romans to be a stone of courage--able to shore up confidence and strength. In ancient Egypt, the stone was placed on mummies to assist the dead in their journey to the afterlife.