What is a down rigger?

A device used while trolling for fish that places a lure at the desired depth to match fish movements and feeding patterns using a trolling weight, a line release, fishing rod, rod holder. In larger setups a cable, boom and motorized crank is used to deploy and retrieve the trolling weight