What's the difference between custard?

Ice cream and custard are both made from cream or milk and sugar. ... Ice cream contains at least 10 percent milkfat and less than 1.4 percent egg yolk, while custard contains at least 10 percent milkfat but must have more than 1.4 percent egg yolk