How do you grow an avocado tree from an avocado seed?

The best way to start an Avacado from seed it to soak it in water overnight, then seal it in an air-tight container with a quarter inch of water. Open the container once a day to change the water and exchange the air. Once sprouted, it can be planted in soil.