Are dryer sheets fabric softener?

Yes, dryer sheets soften fabric by fatty acids. Both dryer sheets and liquid fabric softeners contain fatty acids, scents, and various other chemicals. Dryer sheets need heat to melt the fatty acid and liquid fabric softener use emulsifier to make the fatty acid soluble in water.