What kind of alcohol do they put in eggnog?

While brandy is the most traditional add in for eggnog, according to traditional recipes, some recommend a mixture of dark rum and Cognac. If you like your eggnog a little more boozy, you can also add bourbon, though people recommend sticking to rum and Cognac to preserve the 'nog's flavors.