How does frost bite happen?

Frost bite happens when it's so cold that your body cannot replace the heat as fast as it's lost. That causes that part to freeze, damaging skin and blood vessels. Fingers, toes, ears, nose are most susceptible especially during periods of low temperatures with high windchill.