Did george washington cut down apple tree?

A popular myth about George Washington, is that as a child, he cut down a cherry tree, and confessed when confronted by his father, who praised him for his honesty. In fact, the story is not true -- it was invented by one of Washington's early biographers, Mason Locke Weems.