Who is chevy checker?

Born Ernest Evans, Chubby Checker is an American rock and roll singer and dancer. He is widely known for popularizing many dance styles, including The Twist, with his 1960 hit cover of Hank Ballard & The Midnighters' song "The Twist", and the Pony dance with the 1961 cover of the song "Pony Time".