What color is dorothy's dog?

In the original book, Toto, Dorothy's dog and constant companion, is a small black terrier. In the 1939 movie The Wizard of Oz, Toto was played by a female brindle Cairn Terrier. The 1978 movie version of The Wiz featured a dark gray Schnauzer as Toto.