Do marshmallows grow on trees?

Marshmallows do grow, just not on tree or bush. ... Of course, you can't just pluck a squishy marshmallow from a marshmallow bush or tree. But marshmallows originally were made from the candied roots of a plant. And that plant is aptly called marsh mallow.