Why is benjamin franklin called the first american?

Benjamin Franklin, arguably the pivotal figure in colonial and revolutionary America, could be considered the first American. Franklin became of the world’s most admired and influential men. He was well respected for his wit, and as a diplomat, scientist, philosopher, businessman, and inventor.