What is a high crime or misdemeanor?

The charge of high crimes and misdemeanors covers misconduct by government officials. Offenses by officials also include ordinary crimes, but perhaps with different standards of proof and punishment than for non-officials, on the grounds that more is expected of officials by their oaths of office.