What is the song tiny dancer about?

Lyrics to "Tiny Dancer" were inspired by Bernie Taupin’s first visit to the US and were intended to capture the spirit of California, Taupin stated in a 1973 interview in Rolling Stone that the song is about Maxine Feibelman, his wife. who had been into ballet as a little girl.