How long does it take to drive from phoenix arizona to the south rim of the grand canyon?

From Phoenix, take Interstate 17 north to Flagstaff, then take Interstate 40 west to Williams. At Exit 164, go north on State Route 64 to the park entrance a mile north of the tiny town of Tusayan, which is the closest town to the South Rim. It's about 230 miles and a 3-hour, 40-minute drive.