How many hot dogs did joey chestnut eat in two thousand seventeen?

Joey Chestnut captured his 10th Mustard Belt by eating an event-record 72 hot dogs and buns in 10 minutes to win the 2017 Nathan's Hot Dog Eating Contest during the annual Independence Day event at the corner of Surf and Stillwell in Coney Island, New York City.