Is silicon dioxide gluten free?

Yes, silicon dioxide e 5 5 1 is gluten free. It is widely used in gluten free food to provide better appearance, longer shelf life and higher nutritional value to wine beer and juice. It is a chemical compound that is a dioxide of silicon with the chemical formula s i 0 2.