What is the genetic makeup of an organism?

The genetic makeup of an organism, is called its "Genome". It is governed by the DNA blueprint found inside their cells. DNA is divided into strands called "Chromatin" or " Chromosomes", and varies from 1 chromosome in many bacteria, to 1260 chromosomes in a fern plant. Most strands occur in pairs.