What is the difference between alpaca and a llama?

They are cousins in the camelid animal family. The alpaca is smaller, weighs less and usually has finer fiber (fleece) than the taller, heavier llama. The llama has longer, more standup ears and coarser fleece with more guard hairs. Alpaca fleece yarns can be worn close to people's skin; llamas not.