What's a gossamer blanket?

The word gossamer means a fine, filmy substance consisting of cobwebs spun by small spiders, seen especially in autumn. The word is also used to refer to something very light, thin, and insubstantial or delicate. So a gossamer blanket is a thin, filmy one that is like spider silk.