Why do you humans burp?

Humans burp when excess air enters the stomach. Excess air can occur when drinking through a straw, when eating or drinking too quickly, or even when walking around with your mouth open. Carbon dioxide in bubbly drinks also cause excess air in the gut, and subsequently causes burping.