Why is chocolate dangerous to dogs?

Chocolate is toxic to both dogs and cats because it contains a chemical called theobromine, and caffeine. Both chemicals are used in medicine as relaxants and diuretics. Dogs cannot process these chemicals as well as humans making the effects more dangerous.