What's a sticky piston?

A sticky piston has the same function as a piston, however it also pulls the block on its face back when its redstone signal is turned off, unlike the piston which leaves it where it was pushed.

---

In Minecraft, the Sticky Piston is a block nearly identical to the piston, except that it has slime smeared on the end of it and it can pull blocks, hence the name "sticky" piston. ... When extending, sticky pistons act exactly as regular pistons, pushing up to 12 blocks.