Can you over brush your cat?

You can injure your cat's skin if you brush it too much. Brush short haired cats for just a few minutes two or three times per week. Longer haired cats may need to be brushed more often to avoid matting. Watch for signs of irritation or sensitivity, and don't force the cat.