When did the first video game system come out?

According to the Smithsonian the first video game consoles emerged in the early 1970s. Ralph H. Baer devised the concept of playing simple spot-based games on a television screen in 1966, which later became the basis of the Magnavox Odyssey in September 1972.

---

Video games consoles and handheld video game consoles available from 1972 to 1983 of the first generation include the Odyssey series the Atari Home Pong and the Coleco Telstar series and the Color TV-Game series