What is a linzer cookie?

A linzer cookie is made from almond flour, almond paste, chocolate, and sometimes cinnamon or vanilla. Linzer cookies use a black currant jam for the filling though many recipes call for a red raspberry preserve or jam filling. Other fruit fillings like apricot or cherry would also work well.

---

Named after a Linzer Torte, it originated in Linz Austria. The torte is a pastry traditionally filled with black currant preserves topped with a lattice crust. The cookies take the same idea & flavors of the torte but the dough is cut into cookies then sandwiched with preserves.