Do cats shed their toenails?

A cat's toenails are called claws and yes, they do shed bits and pieces of those. A cat's claw grows from underneath, with new layers pushing the older ones out. Eventually, the oldest layer peels free and is shed naturally, revealing a sharp new tip underneath.