What is t. r. e. t.?

Tret, spelled T-R-E-T, is an allowance made to purchasers of certain goods to allow for dust, water, and other waste substances that may be mixed in with the goods. The practice was common in the Middle Ages, but is rarely carried out these days. A typical amount of tret was 4%.