Why is the hot dog called the hot dog?

The name 'hot dog' possibly began as a joke about their thin, long and small dogs. In fact, the Germans called their dish 'dachshund sausages' or 'little dog', thus connecting the term 'dog' to the hot dog.

---

References to dachshund sausages and ultimately hot dogs can be traced to German immigrants in the 1800s. These immigrants brought not only sausages to America, but dachshund dogs. The name most likely began as a joke about the Germans' small, long, thin dogs.