Why was there a prohibition?

The Constitution's 18th amendment made the manufacture, sale, and distribution of alcohol illegal in 1920. Groups like the Women's Christian Temperance Union and the Anti-Saloon League argued that alcohol led to immoral and unhealthy behavior. The 21st Amendment overturned prohibition in 1933.