Who is densmore of children's literature?

Martha Finley's character, Elsie Dinsmore, was a perfect little angel whose motivations were always pure and who refused to do anything wrong, even when her health depended on it. Children's novels in the late 1800s were often maudlin, but Elsie outdoes them all.