Who invented gel?

In 1929, the British company Chemico Works invented Brylcreem, which became the market leader among hair styling products in both the U.K. and the U.S. during the following decades. In the 1960s, modern hair gel was invented in the United States, by what would later be renamed the Dep Corporation.

---

Natural, eatable gel is an extract of seaweed. Arrowroot, when boiled, will create an eatable gel. Boiled extracts of muscle, bone and other body parts will form a gel that has many uses. Certain mold slimes will form a gel which can be hazardous. Exact origins of many food extracts is unknown.