What's the lifespan of a cucumber plant?

The cucumber plant lives for one growing season. Like many vegetable plants the plant only exists long enough to bear fruit. Once the cucumber is fully developed the plant starts to wither and die. The cucumber must be replanted, from seed, to produce next years crop.