When do the northern lights happen?

The northern lights, or aurora borealis, occur when charged particles from the sun are bent towards the Earth's poles by its magnetic field, colliding with gas molecules in the Earth's atmosphere. The intensity depends on solar activity. In the southern hemisphere this is called the aurora australis