Where was casablanca set?

The film takes place in Casablanca, Morocco, where numerous Europeans are stranded after having sought refuge from Nazi occupation. With exit visas difficult to obtain from the Vichy government, two German couriers carrying valuable letters of transit are murdered on a train.